In many countries, there are an increasing number of private cars. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, number of personal cars is on the rise at an unprecedented rate worldwide. There are positive and negative impacts of this trend. This essay will examine the benefits it brings and the challenges cause by it. The primary advantages of own conveyance is freedom and mobility. Personal independence derived from having a car means people can go shopping, work and other pursuits whenever and at any time without depending on fixed schedules of public transportation systems along with absolute freedom on deciding the route. Apart from this, demand of car is positively related to development of not only the automobile industry but also it brings the boom in other sectors such as insurance, petroleum and so on. Eventually creates numerous jobs for the local people and raise the standard of living. On the contrary, the skyrocketed number of private cars has various pitfalls. Primitively it increases traffic particularly in peak hours. Evidently, an article published stated that a recent study conducted showed that the number of traffic jams almost doubled in the last year due to increased number of private motor vehicles. Furthermore, the air pollution caused by these automobile is quite alarming. As these require petrol and diesel engine to run, which once burned is emit the toxic fumes and pollute the air. Consequently, this has detrimental effect on both humans and environment. To conclude, it can be clearly seen that the use of private cars has become a necessity in our modern lifestyle. Although it has made the life of people convenient, however the negative ramification of on health and surroundings cannot be ignored.