In many countries, the proportion of old people is steadily increasing. Is it a negative or positive development?

These days, many nations have seen rapid growth of the older population. Although some people believe that this phenomenon brings some benefits, I argue that it also has drawbacks for the community. On the one hand, it is true that older adults have been appreciated as a valuable and essential resource to our community. Perhaps the principal reason is that people of retirement age have a great deal of spare time, which allows them to help their family members and other people in difficult conditions in society. For example, when Covid-19 broke out strongly, thousands of retired doctors, with their specialized knowledge and practical experience accumulated through the years, volunteered to work as medical consultants in some hot spots, where there are a plethora of patients. Moreover, the rate of the aged population increasing proves that the healthcare system is advanced. This creates the opportunity of developing more top-notch technology and high-tech devices to meet the healthcare demand of these older people. On the other hand, this upward trend has plenty of negative impacts on society. Firstly, there is an imbalance in the workforce due to the lack of young labor having highly specialized skills as well as expertise, hence the economic recession. As a result, the government has measures to encourage people to have more children in the hope of refilling this gap. Secondly, a country with an aging population will put huge pressure on the national budget. Indeed, the rising number of the old people means a greater amount of pensions as well as social welfare, leading to the decrease of the funds spent on other issues such as education or housing shortage. In conclusion, despite the upsides of the age population, it is undeniable that this tendency has detrimental effects and the government should take feasible actions to tackle this problem.