In many countries, the proportion of old people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on society?

It is undoubtedly that the accelerating rate of the elderly people has ushered in some pressing concerns of society as a whole. While it would certainly be easy to garner either benefits or drawbacks of this increasing, I believe that the whole development brings more negative impacts. On the one hand, there are countless benefits of the raising of aged persons. First and for most, the older people have rich experience and knowledge in both work and life. It means that they can become a good expertise in many sectors such as education, health and financial consultants. In addition, the older generation has a positive influence on the arts and culture. Indeed, they are actively involved in the community as member of sport clubs or attend musical concerts, theatres and art galleries more frequent than younger people. On the other hand, the pitfalls of the ageing population should not be underestimated. One striking disadvantage is that the detrimental effect of its on economics. Specifically, an elderly person might be unhealthy in their later years and may suffer from painful diseases such as arthritis, leading to become a burden on the social welfare system. Another drawback of this trend is that an increase in the older people rate will be a decrease proportion of people of the work place. To explain, there will be more people claiming benefits like state pensions and less people working and paying income taxes, causing a growth up in the dependency ratio. In conclusion, for all the aforementioned reasons, although nobody can deny that the increase of the aging population has positively impacted to the community, this trend is simultaneously negative.