In many countries, the number of people choosing to live by themselves is increasing rapidly in recent years. Why is this happening. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, in many countries, the phenomenon of people preferring living alone has become more and more common. This essay will explain this preference and why it is a negative development. On the one hand, there are many reasons for why individuals want to live by themselves. First of all, when living alone, they can save a lot of money. It is obvious that cost of living for one person is much cheaper than for a family, especially in the cities, where the price of necessities such as housing, food, transportation is extortionate. Secondly, living alone gives people a sense of freedom. For example, since they are not under control from their parents, they can freely do whatever they like without being reprimanded. However, living alone may exert several detrimental effects on society. The first cause is that living alone may fade the relationships between members in a family. As they are separated, they have less opportunity to interact with each other. As a result, their relationships are not as good as they used to be. On top of that, youngsters moving out of their parents’ house may cause disastrous consequence. According to recent research, escalating crime is partly caused by minor. Since teenagers are too innocent to protect themselves fully, they are easily induced to commit the crime. In conclusion, due to its cost saving and freedom, living alone is preferred by many people. Nevertheless, since it may worsen relationships between people and expose adolescents to criminal, living alone should be taken into consideration.