In many countries, teenagers are encouraged to find part time jobs. Some think this is a good development while others disagree.

It is believed in some nations that part-time jobs are beneficial for adolescents; however, some adults discourage their children from working part time because it will have detrimental impacts on teenagers’ academic performance. Despite this drawback, I firmly believe that young people should take up part-time jobs as they can cultivate the essential skills while working. It is obvious that having a part-time job will divert students’ focus from studying. Due to the desire for making money, they tend to pay exclusive attention to their tasks to get perks rather than concentrating on their homework. In other words, they will shorten the amount of time allocated for their academic work, which will diminish their performance at school. Furthermore, the heavy workload may place constraints on their sleep time and cause fatigue. It is the tiredness that prevents teenagers from involving in learning in class. On the other hand, some parents encourage their children to be a part-time employee because of opportunities to sharpen important skills. While working, they will stand a chance of meeting many people with different characteristics; hence, they can learn interpersonal communication and how to handle them. For instance, to deal with difficult customers, it is crucial for a waiter to listen and have empathy with them rather than shouting and getting angry. Additionally, youngsters can improve their vertical communication by working and discussing with their leaders, which is of paramount importance for their future jobs. In conclusion, although having a part-time job will adversely influence students’ academic results, it offers them opportunities to cultivate practical skills that will enhance their future employability. My view is that teenagers should manage their time to balance work and study to make the most of part-time jobs.