In many countries, public health issues relating to people's food choice and nutrition have been on the rise. While others argue that the choice of food should be up to individuals, i believe that government interventions would be important in order to enhance public health

In many countries, public health issues relating to people's food choice and nutrition have been on the rise. While others argue that the choice of food should be up to individuals, i believe that government interventions would be important in order to enhance public health On the one hand, food choices depending on tastes and socio-economic status lies with   each individual. Specifically, diet choice should be integral to individual right and freedom which rely on personal nutritional needs and various eating habits. Therefore, the government is not in a position to intervene or restrict people from consuming the foods of their choice. Furthermore, living in the digital era enables people to have easy access to information about nutrition and diet, prompting them to be more empowered to make their own decisions regarding their food intake. With a fast-paced lifestyle, occupied people tend to choose convenient products, which explains a growing demand for pre-prepared meals and pre-cooked foods. Provided that they weigh up the pros and cons when planning their meals, they will maintain a healthy diet up to individual choice. However, i would argue that government interventions in terms of issuing a system of law regulating food nutrition and restricting unhealthy options are critical to public health. The authorities should implement policies against the consumption of junk food, which can reserve the rights of food consumers and make them more health-conscious individuals accountable for their own diet and health. For instance, food suppliers should display nutritional information and portion sizes on products' packaging. Thenceforth, consumers would become more informed and fully aware of the ingredients and nutrients of certain types of foods. Besides that, the government can take actions such as increasing taxing unhealthy food options and forcing fast food restaurants to diversify their menus, which could curb junk food consumption and reduce the risks of related diseases among consumers. In conclusion, despite arguments for the right to decide our meals, i am more of the opinion that the government should meddle in selection of food to ensure public health.