In many countries people throw away a lot of food from restaurants and shops. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away?

It is unfortunate but true that these days, food waste from restaurants and supermarkets has increased significantly. There are a lot of factors to blame, one of which is the cheap price of food. However, this global concern can be alleviated through well-planned policies. The main reason for wasting a high amount of food should be sought in the consumer society of today. People have become greedy for more. When they dine out at a restaurant they would order as much food as possible, fulfilling their stomach. They are yet unable to eat all of the it, so it is no wonder that the food leftovers end up in trash bins. A subsequent cause is the price. Fast food outlets usually offer cheap packages, tempting customers to purchase more. People only nibble on the burgers and fries, throwing away the rest of them. The same also holds true for grocery stores. They regularly offer eye-catching discounts on food products, encouraging people to buy more than they can use. Most of this food would be decayed in home refrigerators, turning to rubbish that has to be discard. These are the ways, through which a considerable amount of food is wasted. Turning to practical solutions, the government should impose heavy taxes on food, increasing its price. In fact, only in this way would people be forced to monitor the amount of food they buy from market. The government should also use the power of media, educating the public. Through TV and newspaper people will gain deeper insight into the sophisticated methods of food producing. As well as this, they should be aware that a lot of people throughout the world are still suffering from malnutrition along with starvation. This will indeed impress them positively, making them wise about food. Restaurants managers can collect the scrapes of food at the end of the days and leave them for stray animals, especially during winter. To conclude, people neglect food and a high amount of it is thrown away from shops and restaurants. This phenomenon has several reasons, including our throw-away culture and cheap food. This, however, could be solved by the joint effort of the policy makers and individuals.