In many countries people tend to move overseas or move to a different part of their country after their retirement. Discuss why it is so and the outcomes of this situation. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In some areas, retirees prefer to relocate either abroad or in new regions inside their country of residence. Right after retirement, some people are free to decide on their new residential area, being it for a better climate or a lifestyle change. Despite that, this trend may lead to a disproportionate demographical balance, if not properly managed. To better understand this shift in life expectation, it is important to note that dreaming for better days with a better climate is the wish of some people that can only become true after retirement. Once a couple reaches the age of retirement, they become free to spend the rest of their life the way they want. With the absence of family and work commitments, it becomes easier to relocate, depending on the destination chosen. For instance, people always living and working in a cold country would definitely want to spend their retirement in a warmer and sunnier destination. Nevertheless, this important move on an individual level may be harmful on the societal level. Countries or regions with a majority of senior people can face a slow economic growth. The slow economy will oblige the youth to leave, thus pushing the average age to the high end of the age spectrum. Societies prosper with the right balance between age categories, and the future cannot be insured without the young blood. For example, rural areas lack technological advancement, because they are mostly inhabited by senior people, who, alone, are the not the drive to a prosperous economy. In conclusion, relocating after retirement gives the individual many benefits, and this is mainly due to the freedom that seniors gain once they retire. But we cannot neglect the fact that regions and countries cannot survive without a proper balance between young and senior generations, so that economy flourishes.