In many countries, people of all ages are choosing to live either alone or with friends and their is no doubt that this is having an effect on the community that they live in.

Modern life means that many people live away from their homes either because they are studying or because their circumstances have changed, such as getting divorced. Also people often have to travel away from their hometown in order to get a job and if they are not married, this means they live alone or share with friends. So, whole town and cities are changing because of this. The negative effects of this are, firstly, on the environment as more houses and flats need to built and this is a drain on resources. At the same time, a social consequence is that people are living in isolation or if they fall out with their flat mates they can be in a difficult situation. These people became distant from their families and as often they just go to work and came home, they do not always participate in community life or help create a neighborhood where everyone knows each other. However, there are also positive effects of this way of living. Communities with a lot of single people shared houses trend to have a lot of young people. Many of these young people go out more so more shops and leisure activities develop in a town and they can have a vibrant social life. This can make for a very dynamic and innovative community. To conclude, the change in the way people are living is inevitable and in my view, the benefits for outweigh the disadvantages. Nevertheless, we will have to be careful that we do not produce communities with social problems caused by people feeling isolated.