In many countries, people do not recycle their rubbish as much as they could. Why do you think this is? What can be done to change this?

It is quite significant to recycle the waste product in an environment friendly manner, yet many countries fail to do the same. There are several reasons why people do not focus on recycling and proper steps should be taken to change such a scenario. First of all, most people do not understand the need and importance of recycling. They are ignorant of the process of recycling and are least bothered to know where and how their garbage is being disposed. Moreover, most people are so busy in their own lives that they do not have the time to act responsibly and take care of such things. To cap it all, in many countries even government does not try to bring an improvement so that the recycling can be done on a larger scale. In a recent survey; conducted by the Times magazine of India, it was observed that 8 out of 10 people do not really know about the significance of recycling. To combat the above problem, lots of steps can be taken. Government should try and create forums where people can be educated about the significance of recycling. A chapter related to this topic should be included in the school curriculum so that citizens become responsible at an early age. Government can also start some programmes so that the rubbish can be recycled at a larger scale and the environment is made clean. For example, The new Prime minister of India Mr Narendra Modi initialized a programme named “Swach Bharat Abhiyan”, which means clean India. This programme focuses on keeping the country clean and propagates the need of recycling the rubbish products. Now, various societies are setting up collection processes so that most of the waste products are recycled in an eco friendly manner. In conclusion, it can be said that with increasing population all over the world, waste management is an important process and every country should try to maximize the recycling of rubbish.