It is quite important to recycle waste product in an environment-friendly manner, yet many countries fail to do this practice.

It is quite important to recycle waste product in an environment-friendly manner, yet many countries fail to do this practice. In this essay, I will explore the reasons behind this issue and suggest possible solutions. One of the main reasons why people do not recycle is the lack of education on this topic. Schools do not teach enough about the importance of recycling used materials. Also, parents do not teach their children good habits like separating plastics, glass and paper before they are thrown away. Children continue this behaviour in adulthood. One solution to this could be to include a chapter related to this topic in the school curriculum so that citizens become responsible at an early age. For instance, South Korea has mandatory environmental awareness classes in the primary schools which had a huge impact on recycling. Another cause of this issue is that many cities have limited facilities for recycling. By this I mean, the bins with different compartments for reusable materials. In many cities around the world, these are hard to find and often poorly utilised. To address these problems governments could invest in providing easy-to-understand recycling stations which has clear guidance for people to follow. This would encourage citizens to recycle more. The recycling rate of my city significantly increased after the municipality put these kinds of bins on the streets. In conclusion, there are many reasons for peoples' bad recycling habits. Governments and schools should take action to change these behaviours for a better future.