In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas towards urban areas. Why do you think that is? What problems can it cause?

Nowadays migration of people within the country is common. There is an increase in the movement of workers from rural areas to the urban areas in developing countries. This essay will discuss the reasons for this movement and the problems caused by this change. To begin with, the main factors influencing the migration is the lack of job opportunities in villages. People move to cities in the belief that they can find a job. For instance, the main livelihood of the people in rural areas is farming and that will fetch them less than what is needed to survive and as everyone is engaged in the same field there is not much scope. Another reason why workers move to town is because of the better living conditions available. The facilities available in towns are far better than what they have back in the rural areas. The primary problem caused by the shift is that the number of jobs available for urban people will be less since people in rural areas settle for lesser wages as compared to people in the cities. As a result, employers will give more preference to workers from rural areas. Moreover, the influx of people into the cities leads to overcrowding which in turn increases pollution. To conclude, studies have shown that in the developing countries there is rise in number of workers moving from villages to cities in search of jobs and better infrastructure. As a result of this shift, cities are overcrowded and there are fewer opportunities for the people living in urban areas.