In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas. why do you think that is? what problems can this cause?

In quite a lot of nations, individuals are migrating from underserved communities to urban region. This essay will highlight the main reason for this trend and also identify the problem it has caused in the society. First of all, people are always looking for ways to improve their quality of life, which can be achieved by getting a white-collar job with a lucrative pay. These types of opportunities are quite abundant in the big cities and as a result of this it draws people to move out of their rural areas in search for green pasture. For instance, in Abuja, the capital of Nigeria, which was previously a rural, now is now an urban city because the entire high paying job moved their headquarters to Abuja, hence making it populated than before. On the other hand, there were challenges that resulted from the mobilization of people to these bigger towns and one of them was the increase in crime rate. For example, the crime rate rose to 10% in a year after Abuja became the capital of Nigeria, this was due to the high cost of living thus causing individuals who couldn’t survive to steal and engage in other bad behavior. Additional, air pollution also became an issue due to the increase in the number of vehicle in the area thus contributing to the damage of the ozone layer and global warming. If people were not migrating to these urban centers criminal activities and environmental effects would not have occurred. In conclusion, although urbanization is becoming rampant in a lot of societies today, which is primarily because of the natural human desire to live a comfortable life, one should also always note the negative implication it has on the world’s ecosystem and crime.