In many countries people are living in a throwaway society where things are used for a short time and thrown away what are the causes of this and what problem does this leads to?

Use and throw culture is gaining widespread popularity in many parts around the world. This essay will broadly discuss the reasons of this trending behaviour, along with some implications this can have going forward in the future. Firstly, quality standards of consumer products have dropped drastically in last few decades. We no longer see any goods to be durable more than a year, which in turn has triggered frequent buying patterns in the consumer. People, nowadays, purchase products only with an intention to use for a short time period and then dispose them off. Another good reason for this culture is the considerable increase in buying power, leading to frequent purchases as and when it is required. To match with the contemporary lifestyle people keep upgrading themselves with latest gadgets and fashion clothing, thereby, promoting the “throwaway society” unconsciously. The biggest concern of this social tendency is the garbage disposal. This rising trend has generated tons of non bio-degradable wastes like plastic and electronic waste, which is rest assured to stay with us for generations. This poses a big threat to the mankind, as we are yet to figure a disposal system for such waste categories. As per recent statement from the UNESCO, waste disposal is going to be a bigger problem than water scarcity in 2050 which is really alarming To conclude, the government has step in to find plausible solutions to this growing concern of use and throw mentality. It is also equally the responsibility of every individual of the country to act and contribute in the best possible way to tackle this menace.