In Many Countries Only A Small Number Of People Earn Extremely High Salaries

In some countries a handful of people earn significantly hefty remunerations and it is thought to be beneficial for the growth of the economy. However, a few people suggest that the government should limit / control it. I assert that salaries should be commensurate with an individual’s ability and need not be capped. A good salary is always a predominant factor for selecting a particular job in a company. Some jobs require specific academic qualifications, cognitive skills or even long working hours due to which employees in such positions are highly paid. When they work diligently and round the clock for these high paid positions then the productivity of the company upsurges. Resultantly, businesses flourish to peak level leading to the overall development of the country. By contrast, if salaries are capped, it will discourage people from working harder. If there is a limit to what you can earn no matter how hard you work, few people will want to put in their best efforts. On the other hand, if salary is determined by the capability of the worker, it provides a strong motivation not only to the person earning the money, but also to other employees. Thus, everyone is encouraged to work hard. Of course, higher earnings confined to a few hands increases inequality in the society. This also gives rise to feelings like jealousy and hatred. For example, people who do not earn much may feel hatred towards those who earn too much. In such situations, the crime rate is more likely to increase. However, capping the salaries is not the solution to this problem. Instead, the government should do whatever it can to improve the living standards of poor people. The government, for instance, should set minimum wages considering the cost of living in the country. This will ensure that everyone can earn enough to fulfil at least their basic requirements. And once the basic needs are met, people can work towards achieving more. In conclusion, although huge salaries confined to a few hands can give rise to inequality, it motivates everyone to work harder and thus benefit the growth of the country.