In many countries of the world there is a trend among young people to live alone or with their friends rather with their families. Discuss pros and cons of this trend.

In this modern world, individuals prefer to become self-dependant. Therefore, in some regions people like to stay alone or with someone of the same age group as they are. Most of the youngsters do not want to live with their families or close ones. This trend has advantages and disadvantages. In the upcoming paragraphs, I will discuss the positive and negative impacts of this trend / development. To commence with, living alone helps an individual to gain confidence as a person has to face all the ups and downs all by themselves without any support from family members. Moreover, young ones will be able to manage their own expenses by living alone. For example, someone who lives alone will take special care to pay off their monthly mortgage payments and utility bills before due date. In addition to this, individuals can learn to balance their earning and expenditures. They will also develop better problem solving skills. Nevertheless, staying alone or with friends has drawbacks. Youngsters can choose a wrong or inappropriate path in their life as they have no one to tell them what is right or wrong. Friends are not family members; while they can provide company, they are not as much interested in you as your family is. Consequently, there is a limit to the amount of support one can get from friends. Also, if one is in the company of bad friends, it can have disastrous consequences. Furthermore, living by self can lead to mental problems such as tension, depression and insomnia. People who live alone may also find it difficult to stay motivated as they do not have the moral support of their loved ones. Moreover, problems related to health may also arise. For example, someone living alone may choose to eat outside as they do not have time to cook a healthy meal for themselves. To conclude, living away from family will teach self discipline and, enhance decision making ability. However, humans are social animals and cannot live alone without the support of their near ones. A person can face physical as well as mental issues while staying away from family.