In many countries, more and more people buy a wide range of household goods like television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the technological advancements of today's age, new devices and gadgets are replacing human labor. Especially in the developed nations, more and more people buy a range of household goods including television, microwave oven as well as rice cooker. This essay evaluates to whether these goods are leading the human race to a positive or a negative development. I personally think that this is a constructive development There are most definitely a number of humans who put forth the thought of keeping your wants and needs minimal. Firstly, these individuals strongly mention that television can be replaced by books. This would not only ensure a person's mental development but would also reduce the risk of deteriorating eyesight caused due to television. Secondly, they would evaluate the damages to health caused due to the rays of the microwave oven or the specific materials that can be used in such electronics. For example: Plastic containers on melting in the microwave, increase the chances of cancer. Thirdly, there is no need of special rice cookers. A single cooker can easily suffice the requirement of making rice or even a few gravies for that matter. And this set of population is not at all wrong if you consider their views and opinions. However, don't you think that had the human race not had the thirst for development, and growing needs over time, we would still be Neanderthals striking fire with the help of stones? Television, though harmful to the eyes, gives us so many reasons to laugh via sitcoms, gain knowledge via the flashing news or know about the earth and history via channels like National Geographic and The History Channel. And we can surely split the time wisely, so we could do both, watch television as well as read books. With respect to microwave ovens, these electronics were invented to save time. Foods that can be heated on a hot plate in 15 minutes can be warmed in the microwave oven in two minutes and there would be no harm done if we choose to use the right kind of vessels. Similarly a rice cooker ensures that the consistency of the cooked rice is maintained, irrespective of the quantity of water being added. In conclusion, I would like to mention that it is the growing needs that have led to historical inventions and innovations. Due to which, the mankind has put brains to good use and this in turn has led to advancement in numerous fields. Therefore, it is a highly positive growth that people are buying a wide range of televisions, microwave ovens, rice cookers and other such devices since this is giving us a push to learn