In many countries, more and more people are competing for a place to study in universities. why does this happen? do u thi j thus is a postive or negative development. ?

more Nd more high school students than ever are competing for seats for their educTion. this essay shall tell the reasons fir this phenomenon. while there are a few negatives of this situation, I believe it is on the whole a positive development. There are a number of reasons why the entrance to the universities is becoming tougher. firstly, the number of students graduating from high school every year steadily. for example, in 1997 there were 2. 6 million high school graduates in USA, but today, the number has grown to 3. 3 million. so, more students are seeking to attend four-year colleges. Another manir reason is the marketing efforts made by the universities. colleges want to attract high and talented students. This is a negative develpoment becuse students plan well for their higher education and geeting into the university of their choice. They focus on doing well in school to get good scores. Secondly, more students going for higher education can never be a negative development. The universities also make efforts to better their standard. For instance, in my small hometown, lovely professional university opened about a decade ago, Nd today it has about 30, 000 students from across the globe. On the negative side, thus competition leads to stress among students Nd some can even resort to suicide. It is alsk true that it is hard for students to get into colleges because they only want to get into colleges thAt are hard to get into. In doing so, they end up contributing to the vary problem they are trying to solve for themselve. To sum up, there are many reasons for the increasing competition for university entrance, and despute a few disadvantages, it is advantageous for students in the long run.