In many countries, more and more children are overweight. This can cause health problems as they get older. What are the causes of this problem and what can be done about it?

Nowadays, it is true that many youngsters in various states have been facing with the obesity that could negatively affect their well-being on their adulthood. This essay will discuss two of the reasons of this issue and propose measures which might address them. One main reason for the increasing number of overweight children is that the sweet products, which chemically made with high fructose corn syrup instead of natural sugars. Using this particular ingredient in their products, companies achive high profit margins whereas children might expose to the insulin spikes that increases the risk of being diabetic patients in their future life. To combat this problem, the governments can regulate the recipe of the products in the market, or might ban the harmful goods, if necessary. In addition, giving tax incentives for the companies that produces organic and healthy snacks or desserts could also help companies to create better alternatives for our future generation. As a result, children could still enjoy the sweets, without compromise their later life. Another obvious reason for the problem is reduced cardiovascular activity levels of children, comparing to the old times. This is mainly due to the technological advancements occured in our society, where children playing with smartphones or tablets is considered as something normal, rather than them playing hide and seek. I remember in my childhood, we used to play with each other for hours and hours, until our parents call us for the dinner. However, this issue can be mitigated by responsible parenthood. For example, they can play an active role in their childs life by encouraging them to playing in the sports team, or simply spending time with their younglings with biking or trekking, as a family activity. This might result as more healthy older generations, just like the previous times. In conclusion, the two significant reasons for weight problem in children today are their reduced activity levels and their food consumption that contain corn syrup. However, this problem can be minimised if government and parents take responsibility and play an active role in our young generations' lifes.