In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building.

Owing to the harm smoking causes passive individuals, as a result of this, a handful of countries have taken up the responsibility to ban smoking in public places. I strongly agree with this major step as it will reduce hospitalizations and improve general health. To begin with, second hand smoke which consists of carcinogenic components, has serious negative health consequences that could harm lives permanently and individuals could develop cancers of the lungs, mouth and throat as a result of inhalation. Research has found that banning smoking in public places can reduce heart attack hospitalizations by 50%. In addition, the lingering odor of stale cigarettes in open places tends to linger on people's hair and clothes and takes longer to fade even while the offending party has left. Another point to consider is the right of the employer to provide a safe and healthy environment for its employees. Studies have shown that smoke free laws that prohibit smoking in public places like bars and restaurants help improve the health of workers and the general population. Also, smokers do not adequately dispose off the cigarette butt which has resulted in the littering of attractive buildings and the surrounding landscape. Furthermore, smoking in open facilities promotes a negative impact to the young ones which are admittedly learning from the elder ones. In conclusion, despite the fact that smokers are aware of the disastrous consequences of smoking, however, it is clear that individuals should be made to exit the facility if they need to smoke because this would improve the health of thousands of people.