Alcohol plays an important part in the lives of many people. However, some problems are connected with alcohol use. In what ways can the use of alcohol be negative for an individual or a society? How can these problems be overcome?

The consumption of alcoholic beverages plays a major role in the lives of millions. Forms of beer, wine and spirits have been drunk for millennia. It is said that when used responsibly, alcohol can enhance the quality of life. However, medical experts point to the dangers and pitfalls connected with uncontrolled drinking and urge governments to take steps to restrict the sale of these potentially hazardous substances. Obviously, drinking excessively can be detrimental. Consumers of alcohol may become over-dependent or even addicted, leading to loss of employment, debt or financial ruin, a breakdown in relationships and even criminal activity or suicidal thoughts. Naturally, this might have far wider implications for society in general. If a significant proportion of the population misuses alcohol, the consequences may be disastrous: productivity will fall as workers take days off sick with hangovers and alcohol-related illnesses such as liver and kidney failure; children will be brought up inadequately by parents who are inebriated or absent; the crime rate will soar and burglaries, robberies and violent street-crime in particular will rise. Society will struggle to function under these conditions. The authorities can take measures to prevent this state of affairs. Firstly, advertising campaigns can raise awareness amongst the general public about the perils of alcohol overuse. Similarly, schoolchildren can be educated about the specific health risks. Political leaders should also consider putting taxes on drinks like vodka and cider to cut consumption. The revenue received could cover the costs of treating ill alcoholics. Finally, strict laws ought to be brought in allowing courts to impose prison sentences on anyone found drunk in public. The inappropriate use of alcohol is worrying, and implementing the policies mentioned in the previous paragraph would undoubtedly lead to a massive improvement. I am convinced that this would make individuals and society significantly happier.