In many countries, government spent a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening

Government spending on improving Internet access often constitutes a large chunk of national budget, causing a number of public controversy in recent years. Although a number of might oppose this idea due to its seemingly high costs, this is among most beneficial ways to spend government money. There are a number of reasons why governments choose to improve Internet access. First, the Internet has been proven to be the most effective and efficient way to connect people, even if they are in different countries. In fact, since the cost of Internet communication is very low, even zero in some areas, both governments and citizens can start to give up landlines, which in turn saves a great deal of money. Second, many countries have recognized the significance of a knowledge economy, which entails constant communication and exchange of ideas. Plenty of evidence suggests that by streamlining the flows of knowledge, a country’s economy can grow faster as there is a causal relationship between the two indicators.