In many countries, fewer and fewer people go to universities to study science. What's the reason for this? What can be done to encourage people to learn science?

There are numerous different fields of study to choose from when applying to a university. The science major is one of the oldest and important academic disciplines and covers a wide variety of subjects. However, there has been a drop in the number of students that are interested in pursuing science. The decrease in the number of applicants is due to several reasons. Firstly is the heavy study load that is expected for a science student to handle. There will be many experiments and projects that will need to be done, and because of that, some students feel that they do not get enough time aside from school work to relax. Secondly is the lack of job growth that relates to the science department. While it is possible to get a job with just a bachelor's degree, science students will need to pursue a master's degree to advance as the demand for an experienced-hire level scientist would be much greater than an entry-level one. There are a number of things that can be done to encourage more students to apply to a science major. The first is to build an interest in science for students by letting them do experiments. This experience can change their view about science being a boring subject to it being an exciting subject to learn further. The second solution is to show students that science can be applied to everyday life. Such as how the invention of cell phones, video games, computers is all because of science. This can spark curiosity and excitement for students to learn and potentially make something that could be as useful as smartphones are in everyday life today. In conclusion, the reason for the lack of students taking a science major is because of the heavy workload and the low job vacancy available on demand. However, there are several solutions to combat that, which is by building the interest in science from an early age so that more students will take a liking to science and possibly apply for a science major.