In many countries children and teenagers commit more crime. Why is this the case? How to punish them?

Recently, the crime rate among young generation has been on the rise in some countries. This essay will go through some factors behind this surge and offer possible ways that can be adopted to address it. It is true that most of juvenile delinquencies are currently committed by children coming from dysfunctional families. In other words, a lack of supervision from parents or caregivers, give children a free rein to develop extreme behaviour. Youngsters having a conflict with their peers are a common example when children might experience the feelings of hostility and aggression toward others. Since there is nobody who can fix this dispute, it would subsequently force them to commit crimes in later lives. Media also plays important role in shaping children thinking. Computer games which contain extreme actions of violence and cruelty would encourage children to do illegal acts, under the impression that it is morally acceptable. However, it is my view that children should not get punished for their misbehaviour and practical solution is therefore essential. One way to do it is by implementing extra lessons into school curriculum. Specifically, the teacher could conduct private lectures with students, where they could talk about moral values and keep record of their daily school lives. As a result, these youngsters would be more knowledgeable about standards of proper behaviour and realise their wrongful actions. This will also give them an opportunity to get support from school staff and do not feel alone. In conclusion, there are certain reasons why crime among children is now on its highest level, then ever, but giving strict punishment is not the best way to solve it.