Science and technology have improved the standards of living in all over the world. Some people claim that the role of the arts has become insignificant. with this opinion?

There is no doubt that the quality of our lives in the 21st century has been greatly improved by various scientific and technological advances. Despite this, the arts and humanities to still have much to teach us about ourselves and heart in general. One area in which we can learn from the arts is that concepts such as beauty matter in and of themselves, whereas in the world of science and technology the only true measure is whether something works or not. This is a limited view of the world and the arts differ in that they offer us an alternative and more spiritual outlook. For example, if we listen to Mozart we can learn about harmony and joy through the medium of music or if even we read an author like PG Wodehouse we learn about the value of humour. These essential aspects of growth are absent from the clinical world of science and technology. The other way in which artists can teach us more about the heart is that enjoying art encourages the habit of self – reflection. If you walk into an art gallery, attend a concert or even just stay in to read a book, you will almost certainly begin to think about your inner values. For me, this is an invaluable lesson in soul because if we begin to reflect about ourselves, we are beginning not just to become more human, but also consider the lives of others too. In conclusion, while science and technology may have made our physical lives more comfortable in the 21st century. It remains true that the arts and humanities are still absolutely necessary for ordinary people as they promote a more spiritual and reflective view of activity that is essential to our humanity.