IN MANY COUNTRIES ART GALLERIES VISITORS HAVE BEEN DECLINING STEADLY. WHAT ARE THE POSSIBLE REASON? HOW TO CHANGE THIS TREND?

Exhibitions of arts are a great platform for an artist to exhibit his skills to a larger audience. In some parts of the world, it is discovered that people visiting such art shows are declining. I shall examine the reasons in this essay. With the invention of the internet and its advancements, its ability to reach larger masses in certain countries has become easier. Due to which most of the crafts displayed in galleries are accessible at the fingertips of people either via mobile phones or computers. This has become the paramount reason for reduction in people’s visit to the shows. While there are few nations without war conditions, there are some countries who are constantly at disputes and at war. In these countries, encouraging events related to arts is a luxury. People and government here are more concerned about the security and survival rather than fun. When a craftsman displays his work in a city or a country, its reviews are spread rapidly either via social networking sites or newspapers. Art lovers read the reviews and decide whether to attend the gallery or not. These kinds of acts of judging a book by its cover hamper the number of attendees at the show and eventually discourages a craftsman. In conclusion, although, there are a good number of folks attending art galleries in countries where internet has not penetrated, there are also some countries where reviews and easy access to crafts are resulting in lesser attendance.