In many countries around the world, shopping has turned into a form of entertainment rather than a way of getting what people need. Discuss the reason behind this trend. Is it a positive or negative development?

In several nations across the globe, the very basic purpose of shopping has changed. While, earlier people viewed it as a means of satisfying human need, no, it is considered as a recreational activity. This essay will first, discuss the reasons of this trend, and further, will support the argument that impulsive buying is a negative development, followed by a reasoned conclusion. The most important cause for considering shopping as free-time activity is the increase in stress level of people. This is to say, individuals are leading a hectic life, working for longer hours in the office to complete their tasks and duties. As a consequence, they suffer from anxiety, tensions and extreme pressures. Thus, leads them to become compulsive shoppers, which helps them to alleviate from mental and emotional strain. To elucidate, a recent poll done by the Indian Government found that more than 80 percent of people go for shopping just to relieve them from the work related tensions and depression. This phenomenon has some serious ramifications. Careless shopping puts financial burden on people. In other words, people spend a huge portion of their income in purchasing unnecessary products, rather than investing them in other useful fields such as children's education, insurance sector and other financial instrument. To exemplify, a recent study by The Times on March 2019 found that more than 60 percent people's shopping cart is filled with unnecessary goods. To conclude, people consider shopping as a fun and leisure activity to reduce their work related pressures. However, this is considered as a negative trend as people tend to spend their hard earned salary in purchasing useless goods.