In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level.

There is no doubt that the government’s intervention is vital to a country’s economy. Some people believe that the government should regulate the outrageous amount of wages certain citizens earn while others think that it is a bad idea. In this essay, I will analyse both sides and highlight my support for the former. On the one hand, those who advocate that the authorities stay out of people’s earnings might argue that a certain class of society has invested a lot in their education and should be compensated. This is because they spent a high amount of time and money in their studies. For example, the tuition fees for a doctorate or engineering degree are incomparably expensive, compared to other undergraduate courses. If these professionals are not adequately compensated, it will not be reciprocal and as a result, they seek better job opportunities abroad. On the other hand, I think the government should intervene by controlling how much some people are paid because it helps to narrow the gap between the super-rich and underprivileged members of society. The reason for this is that it will encourage an even distribution of wealth in the country. For instance, England employs the method of taxation to bridge this difference by taxing high-income earners as compared to the humble earners. If, however, the government encourages huge earning for a few members of the community, it will result in the spike of the number of the poor and breed disgruntled mass, consequently destabilizing the economy. In conclusion, although some individuals argue that the high-income difference between citizens is beneficial because it serves as a deserved reward for certain professionals, I am of the opinion that the authorities should control this to bridges the gap between the well-to-do and people living below average.