In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trendk?

There is much discussion revolving around living in apartment or living in a house. More and more people choose to buy a flat instead of a house, especially in big cities. From my personal perspective, this phenomenon has both pros and cons affecting individuals as well as the government. On the one hand, the increasing rate of blocks’ residents benefits the authorities as they do not have to worry about the lack of land for all their countries’ population. When living land is becoming smaller and is not enough to contain the large crowd in some places, building blocks of flats is absolutely one effective measure to tackle the problem. The main reason is that tall towers has ability to be the shelter of numerous families and they just occupy a narrow area. For example, one 4-member family detached house consumes 66 m2 while a tall building like VinTower is able to be home of hundred 4-member family units. Therefore, the trend of moving into apartments help the national management solve the shortage of land partially. However, looking at the side of inhabitants, they have to face several difficulties from settling down in an apartment block. The foremost disadvantage is the inconvenience of residing in one place with two many people around since the residents must suffer from the congestion at the elevators along with climbing a long way to reach their room. As a consequence, many workers will be late for the work or they have to run down the stairs in hurry which can cause injures. Also, it is such a hazards for the ones with respriratory diseases that the hustle in elevators would make them suffocating. To sum up, I must concede that the popularity of apartments involves the huge profit of putting down pressure for policy makers but it will be much favourable if people have oppoturnities to dwell in their own houses.