In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict their individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

There is an increase in use of video surveillance in many cities while people criticise that it reduces their privacy. I personally believe that the merits of video cameras are more in comparison to demerits because it helps in the detection of criminals and protection of property. To initiate with, the burglars and thefts are easily caught by the use of security measures in public sectors as digital cameras continuously monitor each and every activity in the area of approach. For instance, pickpockets and shoplifters are less likely to operate in those regions where they know that they are being watched. As a result, video cameras provide valuable support with material evidence to police officers to catch and prosecute offenders which will lead to the safety of cities. Probing further, security measures play an important role in the safety procedures of property as video camera surveillance helps in keeping a check on the everyday activities happening in that particular area. To illustrate, nowadays every educational institution, hospitals and other businesses sectors use this approach of safety to a large extent in order to take care of their property. Effectively, people can go anywhere, far from their homes, without taking tension of their belongings. On the flip side, the personal liberty of individuals is influenced by the use of video surveillance because people think that they are constantly being watched by the authorities and their every moment is captured. To exemplify, A report published by "THE TRIBUNE" on 14th March 2018 revealed that more than 70% of the job employees is fed up due to these safety concerns. Subsequently, it curtails the freedom of people, that's made them feel unsecured and also workers are not able to enjoy their leisure time properly. To recapitulate, it seems that we gain more from the CCTV invention as it controls the rate of delinquency as well as protect our confidential property than the lose from the enhanced security.