In developing countries, children in rural communities have less access to education. Some people believe that the problem can be solved by providing more schools and teachers, while others think that the problem can be solved by providing computers and internet access.

Less developed countries may struggle with providing their rural populations with a satisfactory standard of education. Whether traditional schools and teachers are still the solution, or new technologies should be employed to overcome this challenge shall be discussed in this essay. The main reason proponents of brick-and-mortar schools put forward has to do with equality. If city children benefit from the presence and guidance of professionally-trained educators, so should their rural peers. To offer village dwellers anything other than the exact form of education seen in urban areas could be counted as discrimination, which should have no place in public education. Such a view, however, presents us with unique challenges. Rural settlements tend to be sparsely populated; constructing a school in each and every local village with a few inhabitants requires a spectacularly large budget. Another obstacle is finding experienced and knowledgeable teachers willing to work in remote areas. They may have to be offered higher salaries and suitable accommodation as incentives, all of which put less well-off nations under serious budgetary strain. Distance learning may very well be the answer to these problems. The existing telephone and electricity infrastructure can be exploited to provide internet coverage, cutting costs significantly and leaving only computers to be provided by the government. A basic laptop with a serviceable internet connection opens a world of opportunities to rural children. Through online classes, they can enjoy the very same teaching programmes that are offered in the world's best academic institutions. This way of education, while different, is not necessarily inferior to what is provided by standard schools. In conclusion, despite concerns about potential discrimination, financial considerations seem to rule out a traditional education for children in all rural communities. Yet, even the least well-off country should manage to invest in a few computers per village to enable the school-age children in these areas to access up-to-date digital lessons, hopefully giving them the same life chances in the future as their peers in cities.