In conclusion, I strongly believe that the demerits of using bicycles are easily outclassed by its gains. The government should encourage people to use them more by creating dedicated lanes and bike storage units throughout the cities.

Many people insist that bicycles are efficient since they are cost-effective, eco-friendly and healthy. Some other individuals think that they are not handy and are unsafe on various roads. In this essay, I will discuss both the views and assert why the first opinion is more logical. On the one hand, there are numerous drawbacks to riding bicycles. Firstly, they are not as comfortable as motorcars or public transit. Their suspensions are not so sophisticated and they have smaller tires, due to which rides can be jerky. They also don’t offer the luxuries of a car such as air-conditioning, sumptuous cushioning and entertainment. Because of the aforementioned factors / factors mentioned above, a person can get tired if they ride a bicycle for hours on end. Secondly, in many countries, there are no dedicated lanes and sufficient storage units for bicycles. Driving them, alongside other automobiles, is risky and can often result in accidents. Even if cyclists wear a helmet, the impact of a collision can be catastrophic since the rest of their body is unprotected and cycles are relatively light-weight. On the other hand, there are many more benefits to riding a bicycle. The increased usage of private cars is a major cause of air pollution and global warming. A cycle does not have any exhausts. As such, the adoption of bikes by more people results in less emission of greenhouse gases and reduction in air contamination. The lower pollution index in the city of Amsterdam, a city where the majority of the residents use bikes for commutes is a good indicator of how the usage of bicycles instead of personal vehicles abates pollution. In addition, it is advantageous for people who lead a sedentary lifestyle. Many professionals these days develop numerous diseases from a tender age because of the lack of sufficient exercise. A daily ride to the office on a cycle gives them the requisite workout needed per day without even going to a gym or jogging. Furthermore, they are easier to drive on the congested roads in cities. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the demerits of using bicycles are easily outclassed by its gains. The government should encourage people to use them more by creating dedicated lanes and bike storage units throughout the cities.