In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In most of the developed countries with ageing population, a trend has been set to send elderly citizens into senior homes where they are being looked after along with many others of similar age. There remains a debate whether the expenses pertaining to these facilities should be borne by the government or paid by their respective families. During old age it is best for one to be around one's family. However, there could be certain situations where an elderly person is having health issues requiring constant professional medical care. For instance, when one is undergoing certain psychological inhibitions such as Alzheimer's disease it is advisable to transfer them to a senior home where proper medical attention and care will be provided to keep things at bay. It will also enhance the safety of the person and the household. In such situations, if the family is undergoing a difficult financial situation they will be further burdened if they have to pay for the facilities of their family member. There could also be situations where an elderly person does not have any immediate family to take care of them or bear the expenses. In such circumstances it would be best that these senior people have a certain way of assurance about their well-being during the autumn years of their lives. One could also argue that these elderly people once had been working and contributed to the economy and well being of the country. Their share of contribution had been provided in terms of taxes that had been paid and the service rendered when they were part of the working population. Thus a direct responsibility lies on the government to take care of their citizens who are now in their old age. Thus my opinion would be that the government should have a social care system where elderly population of the country are provided the required facilities after considering the financial situation of their immediate family and presence of people to take care of them at their own households. If the immediate family members are willing to take care but do not have the means to do so, a pension scheme would be ideal so that respective health expenses are taken care of in an orderly manner which would not burden the economy. In conclusion, one should always bear in mind that they were once all strong and capable and were responsible for the development we see today in the world. A progressive society is one which knows gratitude and looks after people who once carried the burden for the well being of the others.