In any society, the contributions of scientists and engineers are most important than the contributions of artists and writers.

In the materialistic world, the trend of adopting second-hand materials is at its peak, whereas people are not giving preference to the newly developed items in various parts of the world. This essay intends to delve into the possible reasons which includes the low cost and the requirement and moreover, it will reduce the garbage produced each year. To commence with, inclination of the individuals towards second hand goods may be due to the cost efficiency and short term needs. As it is irrefutable that the materials which are already used by someone else, can be purchased at a price lower than their actual value. Therefore, it can save a huge amount of money. For instance, in the technological era, newer items come to the market every day, those who can afford and want to be updated, buy those gadgets. Thus instead of throwing the old items, it is better to sell them. To elucidate, one should opt for the old things to save money. Although there is one disadvantage that used goods are not durable and need maintenance, these are cost-effective and furthermore, purchasing of such materialistic things would ultimately reduce the litter produced in the surroundings and hence this activity will contribute in keeping the environment clean. For example, in most of the developed countries, such as the USA and the UK, about 3 trillion tonnes of rubbish is produced by the industries every year. Thus it is a positive step in order to prevent the damage to the environment. In conclusion, there are several reasons with the buying of used goods, but the main one is that these are budget oriented. It has advantages in which major is the safety of the atmosphere.