In an age of social media and technology, people’s relationships with each other often suffer. Discuss two reasons for this problem and suggest a solution.

The connexion between individuals has been negatively affected by the social media and technology era. Excessive time spent online and the development of mental health disorders are two causes of this issue and they can be overcome by paying more attention to human behaviour. Firstly, the initial detrimental consequence of social media and technology in people’s relationships is the excessive hours wasted online, since they feel a compelling necessity to obsessively check emails and roll the screen on Instagram, as a consequence, they inevitably miss precious time with their loved ones. For instance, a recent study indicates that couples who both have social media profiles have a 68% higher probability to divorce, as they spend more hours alone on their smartphones. To overweight this issue, users should watch the time spent on their social media or have some arrangements, such as no phone during the meals, as nowadays an individual cannot live with no technology at all. As a result, people would have more personal interaction and consequently a happier life. Secondly, the other effect is the development of mental health illnesses, because people see everyone always happy, travelling, and always having fun on social media, consequently they tend to compare their lives with others and think their lives are not good enough. For example, a survey last year found that levels of anxiety and depression are 75% higher in social media users, as they are never satisfied with their lives. To solve this problem, people need to seek psychological help, given that emotional health is as essential as physical health to the body. Therefore, users would keep their mental harmony and could improve their relationships. To conclude, in the social media and technology age, people’s relationships often are negatively affected due to excessive time online and mental health instability. Nevertheless, a few measures of controlling human behaviour and seeking professional help might tackle most of these problems.