In a survey conducted in the nation, 20% teens are found nicotine addicts

There is little room for doubt that a staggering growth in the number of nicotine consumers has been reported with a large proportion being adolescents and eighteen to twenty year olds. However, the alarming rise in the figures is due to unsupervised promotion of cigarettes in TV advertisements which severely impacts its younger audience into consuming it. This essay is written in agreement with the viewpoint that imposition of a ban on such TV advertising is the need of the hour. To embark on, it is an undeniable fact that TV ads plays a crucial role in shaping the thoughts and ideology of public as most advertisers employ famous celebrities in advertising their products  which influences impulsive youth into blindly following their role models. Additionally, keeping the health hazards and other dangerous consequences of smoking in mind, the idea of banning smoking deems imperative. To exemplify, most companies avoid mentioning the irrevocable health effects of smoking in their promotions which is unethical as well as serves as a trap to attract the consumers. Another worth considering point in the favour of this argument is that tv advertising leads to early exposure of children. As a result, the more cigarette ads  teens see, the more likely they are  to adopt smoking. Also, these ads brandise cigarettes as way to flaunt high class and sophistication. Hence the uncensored advertising should be stopped. Also, the governments expend a ransom on providing free treatments to  the victims of excessive smoking ignoring the need of spending the amount on more important issues like public transportation, education and unemployment. On the flip side, banning smoking ads restricts the basic freedom of choice in this matter. Consumers are responsible for their choices so instead of curbing the promotion, governments should try inculcating a strong will for quitting smoking should be the aim. Comparatively, it cannot be ignored that the intention behind the prohibition is for the well-being of the society. In conclusion, it can be asserted that although banning smoking ads is questionable in terms of violation of human right to freedom yet the positive results of this step overweighs the negatives.