In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Some people argue that the government must to allocate budget on a high-speed train technology. On the other side, others reckon the budget should be optimized for current mass transportation development. Although many countries are competing each other for high-tech innovation, I believe that it is urgently required for the authority to prioritize first the improvement of existing public transportation network. On the first side, almost all the developed nations have their owned high-speed train technology. The majority of this sophisticated tech has been serving each citizens for long distance mobilization with the least amount of time. Obviously, the Shinkansen trains which have been developed continuously by Japan has proofing the optimum benefits for the Japanese mobility as well as attracting the foreign tourist to enjoy the sensation of extremely high-speed movement across the Japan archipelago. To sum up, the government that has developed this sort of transportation mode fully consider that the high-speed train might give extensive positive benefits for the national economic growth. However, there are the opponents of the notion of high-speed train modernization. As shown in developing countries, they are still struggling to improve both the quantity and the quality of their mass transportation facilities. Less likely with developed economies, many developing nations has no adequate fiscal capacity to fully make an expenditure to this capital heavy project. Consequently, they attempt for seeking the foreign aid which is common accompanied by high rate of interest. As long term consequences, this phenomenon would exacerbate the fiscal capacity of the government to accommodate the other infrastructure projects which in fact have far more crucial for the betterment of social needs. Take the high-speed trains conducted by the Government of Indonesia as excellence example. Indeed, this China supported mega project which connects Jakarta and Bandung possibly could decrease the mobility time significantly, then boosting the economic activity in number of regions where the train will pass by. Nevertheless, particularly in the developing countries context, the authority is typically lack of fiscal and also human resources capacities which probably would undermine the budget efficiency and effectiveness which definitely may be maximized to the more productive projects like the mass rapid transport improvement. At the end of the day, the high-level decision maker has to established the priority for budget spending. Instead of developing costly high-speed trains, it is more appropriate for each government to formulate fiscal policy that supports the existing mass transportation networks that need to be well established and connected.