An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In todays world, it has become a ritual to provide the portable computing devices as a means for imparting school education and assignments. The trend has now increased to such an extent that even the elementary kids are being pulled into this new digital bandwagon. This practice although sounds very progressive and theretically posseses immense potential to be a successful delivery platform, but it has a lot of negative impacts as well. To begin with, as digitization has been the trending buzzword in every aspect of our lives, education is also not spared from its widespread impacts. As for example, the school lecutre delivery and method of information percolation is now facing a tectonic shift towards video and digital delivery platforms. The text books and physical notebook are gradually becoming relics of the past. All this is enabling lots of potenitial for faster and easier understadning of complex concepts. As large corporations and government is investing lot of money, extremly informative content are now being created targetting specific needs of the students of any particular grade - starting from Kindergartens. However, although the media and corresponding Corporate groups are trying to paint a very rosy picture, the negative impacts could not be ignored at all. For example, as a result of this computer, tablet or laptop usage, sometimes for a very long period of time, the eyesights of students are getting affected. Although the lessons and digital content are designed to impart a very effective teaching methodology, there are multitude of distractions. As a direct result of these numerous non-educational or entertainment based contents, like games, students are getting addicted. To conclude, although the digital delivery of education by means of laptop, tablet are becoming an emerging trend, It is hard to ignore the plethora of negative implicats that these bring about in the social and mental development of the students during their ciritcal building stage of life.