In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

It is important to consider how countries should spend their funds. Some people believe that spending money on establishing new express trains’ lines among cities should be directed to enhancing the present mass transportation system instead. Whereas I disagree with this view, I do think that there should be enough money to support public transport. On the one hand, those who believe the current public transportation should be developed argue that this is one of the most important public services. This is because a large sector of the community uses public means of transport and their facilities every day. Therefore, if the quality and performance of these means are raised, it will reflect on society’s satisfaction and productivity. For example, bus trips are going to be more comfortable and shorter in duration, which can make people more pleasant and help them to reach their destinations faster. On the other hand, my view is that this improvement doesn’t contradict with constructing new lines for speedy trains as it can help to further the transportation system in countries in order to solve problems of traditional means. Many people live in cities where are extremely far from their workplace, so they suffer from going to work. For example, it takes days for those who live in Aswan and work in Cairo for traveling by ordinary trains, instead of that, it takes few hours by express trains. Evidently, traveling by such trains can save time and effort. In conclusion, despite the benefits of improving public transport on the community, my firm belief is that it should be funded in parallel with constructing new lines for modern trains, which makes the transportation system more convenient.