The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Is smoking harmful to humans? It's no doubt that smoking is a long term suicide. There is a lot of causes of smoking. To name a few, ciggerate is addictive because of nicotine, one of the main cause is the addiction of nicotine. Also, smoking can cause lung cancer, there is a theroy indicates that smoking a ciggerate can reduce a person's life for 10 hours. Besides, smoking can also increse the risk of a person suffering from mutiple heart diseases including high blood pressure. The chance of have heart attack for a regular smoker is also 30% higher than a non-smoker. By what measures we can reduce smoking in the society? The first method is to increase tax on ciggerates, it can help light smokers to quit smoking in order to avoid paying the increasing price of ciggerates. However, heavy smokers may not be forced to quit as their addiction of ciggerate are serious that even increasing the price of ciggerates can't help them to get rid of smoking. For these heavy smokers, it's suggested that medical treaments should be given, in order to help them to stop smoking. Nicotine subsituses such as nicotine stickers can be used for them to stop relying on tobacco. They may be able to get rid of nicotine addiction right away, but they can stop the habbit of ciggerate usage first. Then by reducing the usage of nicotine subsituses, they will finally quit smoking. Preventing non-smokers from smoking is also as important as helping smokers quit smoking. In the past, a massive numbers of people went smoking beacuse of its cool image that promoted by the ciggerate manufacters, especially in the teen culture. And with the lack of education, people actually though that smoking was not only cool, it was also good for health. So, to prevent people from smoking, the government should provide a harmful image of smoking and put more resources in teaching the cause of smoking especially among teenagers.