A number of countries levy tariffs on international products in order to support native production

A number of countries levy tariffs on international products in order to support native production, while other countries prefer to keep the free market allowing customers to buy imported goods for accessible prices. Although, as a consumer, I gravitate to those who support the idea of free tariffs, both views will be elaborated on here. On the one hand, there are a few key reasons why imposing customs is of particular importance for the local economy. Firstly, the fact of import duties protects domestic production and results in measurably reduces unemployment in a short run. Local manufacturing is stimulated to produce more to satisfy the domestic demand. Secondly, import duties ensure that more revenue arrives to the budget of the country. For instance, a government can invest this money in the country’s transport network, its education system and its healthcare. On the other hand, some governments believe that import fees sap the economic growth, and by waiving the tariffs, they stimulate purchasing capacity of the citizens. The produce coming from abroad is available at affordable prices. Therefore, buyers are given the opportunity to have a variety of choices and opt to buy the best option. Another significant factor of customs withdrawal is that existence of cheaper foreign output motivates domestic businesses to produce better quality things, which, in turn, would maintain genuine competition and laying the foundation for the market economy. For example, if Swiss chocolates and sweets are present on the shelves of Ukrainian supermarkets, local producers are obliged to make their chocolate if not worse than that from Switzerland, but even better. In summary, both sides of the arguments staying in favour or against import fees have their advantages. However, having analyzed the two camps, I am of the opinion that economy should be developed by other means rather than high tariffs which are doubtlessly paid by an ordinary consumer. If the products were at the lesser cost, purchasing power would be increasing, as well as household incomes.