Impacts of social media on people.

Social networking sites have both positive and negative impacts on society. But a large number of people believe that social media shows a great negative influence on individuals, especially teenagers. This is generally because of the content that is being shared on the internet these days. In this modern generation, social media sites such as Facebook, WhatsApp, and Instagram have a huge negative effect on youngsters. These negative repercussions include incidents such as chat with strangers, the spread of fake news, and other bad influences that may affect the mental state of an individual. Because of social media, individuals are more interested in spending time online rather than with their family. This leads to the separation of one from their homes or local communities. This not only affects an individual but also has a tremendous effect on society. Usually, social media is a platform that connects people from different localities. It acts as a medium of conversation between people. I personally believe that social networking sites are the glue that keeps the connection alive between various people. It allows us to chat, call, and constantly keep in touch with our loved ones. It's not only used to communicate with others but is also used to know our surroundings. Different social media websites provide information regarding ongoing news all over the world. Apart from this, social websites are a great opportunity for young or inexperienced entrepreneurs. They can be used as a platform for fresh startups. They can further be used for marketing by experienced businesses. In conclusion, social networking sites have their own advantages and disadvantages. The type of impact that these websites possess highly depends on the way an individual utilizes them. By having some self boundaries, I believe that social media has a positive impact on both individuals and society to an extent.