Editor's memo to the managing editor.

The editor of the newspaper makes a series of assumptions in arriving at the conclusions that the paper had improved in quality and readership. They owe the improvement directly to the hiring of older and more experienced journalists without adequately justifying it. The editor also goes on to conclude without further confirmation that the less experienced reporters did not contribute to the improvement and that they would not also do so in the future. The first assumption the editor makes is in the metrics used to judge the paper. It is not clear that the survey of the subscribers three years ago was a statistically accurate one. The question is whether it had chosen the right sampling of people. Further the complaints of the quality of the reporting and writing could have been specific to a few people. Did the survey ask everyone specifically about the quality or were they comments by a few? These are important to answer so as to bring accuracy to the results of the survey. The editor uses a subsequent rating on reporting and writing and the growth in subscriber base is evidence that the quality has improved. Again, elaborating on the statistical method used to obtain these ratings would convince the managing editor that the metrics are to begin with reliable. Secondly, the editor goes on to assume that the older and more experienced journalists were the direct cause for the higher ratings. For example, if the ratings had improved even without hiring of older and more experienced journalists, it would indicate that most of the improvement could have been as a result of the existing younger reporters improving speedily on their reporting skills and trying harder. Providing more evidence of this direct correlation between the hiring of more experienced people and objectively comparing the quality of their writing and reporting those of the younger people after the three years would have helped in strengthening the assumption. Thirdly, the editor assumes that the subscriber base growth of 13% was directly attributable to the quality of reporting and writing. Suppose the subscriber base had grown even without improvement in quality, it could have indicated a growth in the local population. It may have indicated movement of subscribers from a competing newspaper or an improvement in the marketing of the paper. Hence, it is important that the editor isolates the specific reasons for the growth in order to convince the managing editor that the growth was directly correlated to the improvement in quality. And finally, the editor makes the assumption that the younger, less experienced reporters did not contribute and more importantly will not contribute in future to the quality and growth of the paper. For all we know, they could be learning rapidly on their own or from their more experienced colleagues and could be extremely capable contributors in the future of the paper. An objective evaluation of the work of the young reporters and comparison of the same to their work three years prior would have helped lend support to the conclusion that they needed to be fired. In conclusion, the editor of the local newspaper could have provided more information and rationalization for relying on the metrics, to the rather drastic conclusion that the less experienced reporters needed to be fired and that the more experienced journalists were the direct reason for the improvement in readership and quality.