Impacts of climate change in Pakistan

Climate change is posing serious threats to many developing countries; Pakistan is one of them. Extreme weather events hit Pakistan 153 times from 1998 to 2018, took 9986 lives, and caused a $3. 4 billion loss. Hence, Pakistan ranks 5th most vulnerable country to climate change in Global Climate Change Index. This essay will point out serious fallouts of climate change in Pakistan and try to conclude it. The most serious threat of the changing climate is for Pakistan's agriculture sector, which is the mainstay of the economy. It contributes to economic growth, employment generation, food security, and foreign exchange reserves. Nevertheless, due to heavy rain and the subsequent flood badly damaged wheat and sugar cane. As a result, sugar and wheat had to import in the last year. In short, agriculture, an indispensable part of the economy, is under threat. Secondly, natural shocks fuel fiscal deficit as the government has to provide relief to ensure the provision of necessities to affected people. Further, the government has to reconstruct damaged infrastructure like roads. For instance, the Federal Government announced Rs. 1100 billion for Karachi's aftermath of the flood. In this way, the country's expenditures exceed its revenue. Thirdly, epic migration is triggered by extreme climate events like floods, drought, etc. As people have to move to another place for the safety of lives. Above all, affected people also take migration for jobs, education, and health. For example, many people living in hilly areas left their villages to avoid climate-related threats, according to a report. Hence, natural disasters drive forced migration. Keeping in view all mentioned threats of the changing climate, several measures are required to be taken at individual and government levels. Firstly, the government must take measures for curtailing carbon emissions and increase plantation drive in the country. Secondly, the government must build dams for retaining flood water. Thirdly, the government must make collaborate with international organizations for financial and technical support. In short, Pakistan is in the hotspot of climate risk. In the future, it can suffer devastating consequences ranging from social to economic and political. Hence, there is required to take proactive steps to avoid epic disasters in the future.