Many governments invest a great deal of money in space research. What are the advantages and potential disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

In the past decade, billions of dollars have been spent on space exploration. Although some support this investment, others feel that this money is squandered and should instead be spent tackling Earth’s many problems such as healthcare and education. In this essay, I will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of government spending taxpayer money on space research and why in my opinion positive impacts are superior to negative ones. Humans had greatly benefited from the research that has been conducted over the century. One positive outcome of this research has been the invention of a satellite. We have greatly expanded our communication and weather prediction capabilities which could significantly help meteorological department to predict the origin of a tsunami and take necessary precautions to minimise the causality. Another driving factor is, If we could found an earth-like planet nearby, for instance, our species could mine its resources or even colonise and potentially migrate there, once our own planet becomes uninhabitable. Despite these benefits, space exploration is very expensive and government had spent billion of dollar on it, which could be used to solve many of our problems on the earth itself. If this money had been spent instead on improving literacy and sanitation in the third world, or on researching vaccines and treatment of deadly diseases, our lives would be much better than they currently are. There is also the problem of space junk. When rockets and satellites launch and fall into disuse, they become the part of the litter that is already cluttering up space orbits. The debris possesses potential risks to the future mission as well as simply contributing to the global pollution problem. In conclusion, space research can have life-changing impact here on Earth, It does, however, come at a potentially huge cost if a nation does not prioritise its spending and neglects the environmental fallout of missions.