Impact of social networking sites on individuals and society

Social networking sites, for instance Facebook are thought by some to have had a detrimental effect on individual people, society and local communities. However, though I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial to the individual, I agree that they may have some damaging effects on local communities. With regards to individuals, the impact that online social media has had on each individual person has clear advantages. Firstly, people from different countries are brought together on a common platform. prior to this development of social networking sites & technological development, people rarely had the chance to mingle or meet or communicate with anyone outside their immediate circle of their communities. Secondly, Facebook also has social groups which offer people a chance to meet and participate in discussions of common interest. On the other had, the effect that Facebook & other social networking sites had on societies and local communities can only be seen as negative. Rather than individual people taking part in their local community, they are instead choosing to take more interest in online meetings. Consequently, the human touch is lost and people in local communities are no longer forming supportive relationships. Furthermore, society as a whole is becoming increasingly disjointed and fragmented as people spend more time online with folks that they have never met. To conclude, all though social networking sites have brought individuals closer together, they have not had the same effect on society or local communities. Local communities should do more to try and involve local people in local activities on order to promote the future of cohesion and community life.