If you were given the choice of a school or work assignment would you prefer to write long report or give speech in front of a large group of people

There is a school of thought thinking that teachers should not give homework for children, while other people hold a view that the setting of homework is an essential part of education. I personally would side with the second view that children should be given homework. On the one hand, there are numerous reasons why it is believed that teachers should not give assignments for learners. The first reason is that students are always under an enormous amount of study pressure from school and still have to spend most of their time at home to finish homework for the next day. It means that the students will spend less quality time to develop a relationship with their family, their friends as well as for outdoor activities. The second reason is that subjects at school these days are more about theory, and learners are less likely to get exposed to practical experiences. In Vietnam, for example, those who study chemistry or physics have to deal with a lot of theoretical homework rather than doing real experiments. On the other hand, those who firmly believe in the importance of assignments give out several benefits of it. Firstly, doing assignments at home could significantly help learners remember the formula more easily especially in mathematics or chemistry. Therefore, practicing similar tasks at home is the optimal option for children. Secondly, Homework in tertiary education is not only about some simple exercises, but it could also be a group assignment or research. By doing this, it helps students to reach their full potential in learning by encouraging independent learning and problem-solving. In addition, it is also a useful method to aid students to develop an independent study habit. In conclusion, although a large number of people think that homework is truly an unnecessary burden on children, I still hold a belief that it is an indispensable aspect of education.