If you could change one thing in your society, what would you change and why?

Nigeria. A third-world country grappling with chronic corruption, crippling poverty, and the highest rate of out-of-school children in the world. No problem enrages me more about this tragic reality, than the suffering endured by impoverished people, who have no access to empowering opportunities. Hence, I aim to provide that opportunity– through education. By teaching people how to solve problems around them, I recognize that I can make a tremendous impact in my community. Consequently, I seek to contribute to the free quality education of children across Nigeria, transforming its educational narrative. My motivation for fulfilling this vision is simple: at least 4 in 10 children aged 6-11 in Nigeria are out of school. That’s 10. 5 million bright futures– robbed of the possibility of coming to fruition. I want to provide a chance for underprivileged children to take control of their future - and not forever be subjugated to the consequences of adverse financial and socio-economic conditions. Given the opportunity to receive a quality education, these children can rise and tackle issues around them, effecting social change in their communities. I am determined to be the catalyst for this change. “If you give a man a fish, you feed him for a day. If you teach a man to fish you feed him for a lifetime. ”- Chinese philosopher, Lao Tzu. I ardently seek to feed generations of Nigerians to come for lifetimes far beyond mine– by giving those before them the key to unlocking their collective future- our collective future: education.