COVID-19 shortage of work

Over the last few years, COVID-19 has been a matter of great concern. Many countries have implemented lockdown to reduce COVID-19 transmission, which causes massive struggles for society's well-being. In the outbreak of COVID-19, lots of people have to work from home. Working at home features concentration-busting interruptions such as family member talking noise, phone notifications, …, which all disrupt us from work. It is hard to balance home and work life between the timing of lockdown. Besides, the closure of stores leads to a huge number of employees losing their jobs or even being homeless. The proportion of unemployment has been unprecedented rising these years. Not only affecting employment, but the isolation has also resulted in the demand of consumers and the food supply chain. People stockpiled food and vital supplies has emptied shelves in the supermarket and caused a shortage of essential goods. On the other hand, social media help people stay in touch during social distancing; however, those modes of communication cannot replace face-to-face interaction. Lack of social interaction causes all of us to feel more isolated and lonely, also increases the risk of various mental health problems, including depression, anxiety, … Furthermore, this matter makes some people hard to get motivated because they are used to working at the office with their co-workers. In addition, there are several viable solutions to help tackle those COVID-19 problems. Nowadays, online jobs have become ubiquitous and diverse, so the chances of finding work in the epidemic are increasing. Along with this, there are a lot of advanced technology helping people while working from home and keep themselves productive, for instance, Zoom, Google Meets, Notion, . . . What is more, now we can purchase essential supplies the online market instead of going out. There is no need to worry about queuing to buy items in the supermarket. Equally important, mental health during social distancing is one of the most pervasive problems. Taking up new hobbies and stay connected with friends are some effective remedies for being lonely and isolated. In brief, although people have to confront the difficulties during the lockdown at the COVID-19 outbreak, there are many viable solutions to counteract those problems.