if countries are serious about solving traffic problems they should tax private cars very heavily

Traffic congestion in a plethora of cities around the world us severe. a number of crowd suggest that the government should impose heavy-duty on independent van owners and spend the money to provide free charge or less than standards price for transportation. From my perspective, I personally agree with this point for a plethora of reasons, described in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, heavy levy on independent van will discourage most crowd from buying cars. This will also help in reducing pollution to a great extent, as there will be less emission of harmful gases. Also, the levy money collected from this measure can be used to improve public transport. For example, the government can use it to build better roads and well-equipped bus stations and railway stations. This will also boost infrastructural development in the country. On the flip side, any such decision to increase rate on individual truck will put community at a disadvantage. Not everybody resides in areas where they have easy access to public transport. For instance, in most countries farmers own land far from the city. They need their own wagon to get to the nearest bus station or train station. Another issue is that if nation stop buying cars to avoid fine it will have an adverse impact on car manufacturers. This will lead to an acute drop in sales and profit and employees will not be paid appropriately. Eventually, this will cause unemployment and hamper the economic growth of the country in the long run. In conclusion, the decision to impose levy on independent van has merits and demerits. It might reduce pollution on the contrary at the same time it will cause a great deal of inconvenience to family. prior to implementing this decision, the government should consider all the possible consequences. Comments 0